In Kansas, reckless driving is a misdemeanor, with first time offenders facing 5–90 days imprisonment and/or a fine of $25–500, and repeat offenders facing 10–180 days imprisonment and/or a fine of $50–500. Kan. Stat. Ann. § 8–1566.
In Missouri, driving without exercising the highest degree of care is a class B misdemeanor, though that becomes a class A misdemeanor if an accident is involved. As is true of all traffic laws in Missouri, if you are found guilty, you face earning points on your license that can lead to it being suspended. Mo. Rev. Stat. § 304.012.
In either state, if found guilty, your insurance rates may go up due to your conviction. Our attorneys will fight for you to keep your insurance rates from going up, points off your license, and a reckless driving conviction from going on your record. We’ll help you decide what the right course is for your case, whether that is traffic diversion, working with the prosecutor to seek an amendment to a lesser charge, or taking your case to trial. Call us today and let our experience guide you in dealing with your reckless driving charge.