In Kansas, driving without registration is a misdemeanor punishable by a fine not exceeding $2,500 and/or by imprisonment in the county jail for not less than 30 days nor more than 6 months. In practice, it is not common to see the punishment even approach the $2,500 fine maximum or any prison time at all, though they both are authorized. For that very reason, it is important to consult with an attorney. Kan. Stat. Ann. §§ 8–127, 8–149.
In Missouri, driving without registration is a class B misdemeanor, which carries a prison sentence not to exceed 6 months. Mo. Rev. Stat. § 301.020.
It is important that you have experience on your side so that you don't receive an unfair, harsh sentence for something as harmless as driving without registration. If you’ve received a ticket for driving without registration, or for driving with an expired registration, call us to discuss what the best course of action is for you in dealing with your ticket.