If you were ticketed for driving without insurance, but you had valid insurance at the time, just not in the car at that moment, it is not uncommon for the prosecutor to dismiss the ticket as a warning. That is not to say that prosecutors have to do that, but the ones we have dealt with have been very understanding in that situation. We’ve also dealt with prosecutors who were willing to dismiss no insurance tickets if the person obtains valid insurance before their hearing. You may still have to pay court costs in such a situation (which are usually less than $100), but that could prevent you from more serious consequences.
In Kansas, driving without insurance is a class B misdemeanor and shall be subject to a fine of not less than $300 nor more than $1,000 and/or confinement in the county jail for a term of not more than six months. If you are found to have driven without insurance a second time within three years of a prior conviction, it is a class A misdemeanor and you are subject to a fine of not less than $800 nor more than $2,500. You may also face a suspension of your driver’s license. Kan. Stat. Ann. § 40–3104
In Missouri, failure to produce proof of insurance is a misdemeanor that is punishable by a fine not to exceed $300. A conviction also results in 4 points being assessed to your driver’s license. All you need is 8 points in an 18-month period to have your license suspended. A second conviction shall be punishable by imprisonment in the county jail for a term not to exceed 15 days and/or a fine not to exceed $300.
If you’ve received a ticket for driving without insurance, whether you had valid insurance at the time or not, call The Flynn Law Firm and let us help you fight these charges and prevent more serious consequences.